family

Recipe Boxes – great idea or overpriced ridiculousness?

I love cooking. One of the hardest parts of being a parent has been the lack of time to cook. I can’t babywrangle, prep veg, and do everything else all at th e same time.

Now R is weaning, I can plonk him in the highchair and let him paint his face in rainbow goop using a broccoli brush while I actually make good food.

I heard about Hello Fresh from one of my friends who sent me a £20 off voucher for the first box. Being the tight Yorkshire woman that I am, I thought I’d give it a go, certainly at least once!

The box arrived, helpfully delivered within a window of one hour which you are informed of in the morning, allowing the day to be planned accordingly.

The meals were; Moroccan steak with lemon couscous; paprika pork, butter bean stew with new potatoes; and Jamie Oliver’s chicken noodle stir fry.

The produce was fantastic quality. The beef flank in particular was amazing. I found the portions overly generous, baring the single chicken breast between two people,  but I am a meat fiend so that’s to be expected.

Next up I tried the Gousto recipe box. The meals were harissa chorizo with white bean mash, Asian dipping fish nuggets with rice and sugar snap peas, and lemon pepper chicken.

Once again, these meals were excellent. A managed to cook one evening following the recipe so that I could work and was very pleased to have three pans on the go at once!

The cost was higher than if you put the meals together yourself coming in at £39 from Hello Fresh and £34.99 Gousto for three meals for two people. However, if the quality is consistent I can see why people would pay that!

The box was well received by R.

DSC_1822

If you’re short of time and ideas, or if you can’t cook, recipe boxes from these companies are great. For me, the convenience of the box does not make up for the price. I can feed my family for much less.

It was nice to have dinner cooked by my husband without worrying about it being burnt! He’s terrible at potatoes. Once he boiled whole jacket spuds for mash and didn’t understand why they wouldn’t cook through… A's Dinner

Standard